Oldskooler Ramblings

the unlikely child born of the home computer wars

Vintage Computer Festival Midwest 5.0 Pix

Posted by Trixter on September 19, 2010


I’ve had very little time to play with old machinery this year, but I did manage to visit the VCF Midwest 5.0 this year.  It was hard to avoid, being as it was held about 25 minutes from my house.

Seeing as this was combined with the yearly local Commodore 64 fest, it was a bit of a double-fest. Jim Brain was there, and I also had a nice conversation with Nate Lawson who educated me on the finer points of how BD+ does and does not work. MC3 will intentionally use as little protection as possible, but the 16-yr-old cracker in me still likes hearing about the details.

I couldn’t arrive until 9pm, but most of the exhibits were still up.  I took pictures with my 9-yr-old 4MP “prosumer” camera, and was mildly happy with how they turned out.  Enjoy:

Vintage Computer Festival Midwest 5.0

6 Responses to “Vintage Computer Festival Midwest 5.0 Pix”

  1. Great pics, looks like a terrific event! Too bad I missed it by exactly one month :-/ Any interesting vintage/demoscene events in the Chicago area on November?

    • Trixter said

      Sadly, no. There might be a Chicago Classic Computer Club meeting but it’s usually around 10-15 of us bringing random crap to a meeting place for 4 hours.

  2. Also sounds fun. I’ll get in touch when/if the dates are finalized, maybe we can work something out (or just go for a beer…)

  3. Chris said

    I always meant to go to VCF East (its usually held about an hour’s drive away), but kept forgetting about it. I checked early and it seems that they didn’t even plan on having a show this year. :(

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.